Angelical Whispers

Learning and Listening to our Angels

Being Grateful For All that We Have


By Peg Jones

We have so much to be grateful for in our lives. I am reminded of this every day of my life. I know that there were times when I may have not felt that way as far as feeling grateful on a daily basis.

Before coming up with the subject of being grateful for all we have, I was looking through Facebook and the post blocks on my page.  I came across this page block that said.

“Happiness will never come to those who fail to appreciate what they already have”.  Unknown

And so I thought I would write about this concept of being grateful for all that we have, even when we think we don’t have anything, or life is very stressful, and we find it hard to find peace or joy in our life. It is almost as if the stressful feelings which could be frustration, anger, resentment, feeling ignored and feeling worthless,  etc., that the last thing we want to think about is being grateful,  for all we have in our life.  Its like are you kidding me?  I have nothing to feel grateful  for,  so I have no interest in making this grateful list.

And then I hear in my mind, so you didn’t get your own way, so why be grateful?  Like the feeling is just so focused on this feeling on the negative feeling we experienced and we are just going sit in that black hole of whatever, u are feeling. So is this a grown up version of a temper tantrum, or pity party of one?

I admit to being regular on the pity party for one circuit at different times , in my life. When I first heard about being grateful for what I have, I was like well I am not where I want to be in my life, for career or for relationship or other relationships or what whatever it was at the time.  How can I possibly grateful

I was working with a  life coach a few years ago, and it was suggested that I start to write ten things I am grateful for each day.  Starting out was a bit hard.  The first few days, I was able to think of at 7 things to be grateful for, not 10.  I kept that date with myself each night and I found that as I was writing this nightly grateful list, I was writing down things,  that we all take for granted. Like a sunny day, a warm day, a rainy day, that was badly needed because there was a drought, food on my table, and for my husband, my parents and siblings and my in-laws. Being grateful for the car,  I am able to drive each day, to work, and for the job,  I had and for the people that I worked with.  For a roof over my head and for  clean clothes to wear each day.

As I was writing the list each night, I found I was writing more than ten things I was grateful.  I realized that writing this list was helping me to see how the the universe, our Source and higher power was truly there for us.  I also found that my apathy of what I thought my life was all about was my limited thinking.  I do have a lot to be grateful for and my demeanor, and sense of peace and joy, was beginning to comeback. I stopped comparing myself with others as I had done pretty much always..  I was just so grateful all that was in my life at that time.

I was also becoming more aware of the poverty; mistreatment of people through beliefs and through lack of funds and violence had ruined so many parts of the world, and was continuing to do so.

My grateful list became my mantra and it became my focus point on what the universe has blessed myself and family with. I was finally beginning to understand that it all begins with myself in being grateful for what I have, and to begin this daily grateful list with a feeling of loving and being accepted  of who I am and being grateful for all that I have been given from the universe.

When we begin with Self-Love, the love emanates to all who we come into contact with on  a daily basis.  The grateful list helps us to feel this concept of acceptance and love of who we are.. And whatever was bothering us a few days usually goes away.

Coming to this place of gratitude, helps us to help other in a positive way, for we are all teachers and students on all aspects of our life.

Another way or version of feeling positive about who and what we do is make a habit of writing three things we have accomplished each day. Keeping it all on positive note and going to bed knowing that the day was full of joy and constant place of total gratitude and not in vain.

Taking this time each day, to do write your creative writing, know that the universe is always with you at all times. And lastly that you are truly grateful for all that you have in your life, today.

Comments are closed.

